Latest Status, Quotes with Images, Printable Cards

Maha Saptami – Date, History, Importance & Celebration

Maha Saptami is celebrated on the seventh day of the Navratri festival. This day has a great significance for the Durga Puja festivities. According to the Hindu Calendar, Maha Saptami is celebrated in the month of Chaitra during Shukla Paksha on the seventh day i.e. Saptami. As per the Gregorian Calendar, Maha Saptami falls in the month of March to April.

Maha Saptami image

Maha Saptami – Date, History, Importance & Celebration

This day holds great Importance as the devotees worship and pray from Goddess Durga and seek her blessings. For all the nine days of Chaitra Navratri, people pay respects and pray to Hindu Goddess Shakti.  It is interesting to know that during all these nine days, nine incarnations of Goddess Durga are worshipped and prayed to across India. The Maharashtrians celebrate this day as Gudi Padwa, in Karnataka, Andra Pradesh, and in some other southern states, it is celebrated as Ugadi. 

On the day of Maha Saptami, devotees wake up in the early morning, freshen up and take bath in sacred holy water and then offer prayers to Goddess Shakti. Devotees prepare sacred meals also known as Bhog which are offered to the Goddess and then later distributed among the devotees and invitees in the form of Prasad. 

Pandals are prepared and set and are adorned with lights, flowers, and garlands. According to the rituals and traditions, the day of Maha Saptami begins with Maha Puja and then the devotees also perform and prepare Kalratri Puja. At some places, Goddess Saraswati is also worshiped on the day of Maha Saptami by offering Saraswati Puja. 

The festivities and celebrations begin early morning starting with offering a sacred bath to the Navapatrika. It includes nine different plants named Paddy, Banana, Tumeric, Arum Plant, Pomegranate, Jayanti, Colacassia, Ashoka, and Bel. All these plants are tied together with Koyala and Aparajita plants and then later Navapatrika is formed from it. This activity represents the victory of Goddess Durga over the demon Mahaishasura. 

It is believed that at the time of war with Mahaishasura, Maa Durga formed eight different was partners known as ‘Ashtanayika’. These nine different plants are known as the symbols of these eight war partners along with Goddess Durga. 

Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti Date

Date 2019: October 5

Date 2020: October 23

Date 2021: October 12

Also Read:

It is interesting to know that on the seventh day of Durga Puja, i.e. the Saptami of Durga Puja, the goddess started her battle with the asur Mahishasura and later it ended on the tenth day which is also known as Vijaya Dashami or Dusshera.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright Status33